SamTrans Appoints Stone to Joint Powers Board

SamTrans Appoints Stone to Joint Powers Board


The SamTrans Board of Directors appointed Belmont Mayor Charles Stone to serve as a representative on the Joint Powers Board (JPB) at their December meeting.

Stone will represent the San Mateo County Transit District on the JPB beginning in January. Stone replaces JPB Member Rose Guilbault, who has served on the JPB since 2014.

The JPB is the governing body of Caltrain, the commuter rail service that operates in San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Caltrain is managed by the San Mateo County Transit District, in partnership with the City and County of San Francisco and the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority. The nine-member board of directors is composed of three members from each of the three partner agencies.

For additional information about JPB board members, visit  


About SamTrans: SamTrans operates 77 routes throughout San Mateo County.  Funded in part by a half-cent sales tax, the San Mateo County Transit District also provides administrative support for Caltrain and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority. SamTrans has provided bus service to San Mateo County customers since 1976. 

Like us on Facebook at: or and follow us on Instagram @GoSamTrans and Twitter @SamTrans.

Free translation assistance is available.

Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.


SamTrans News 


Media Contact: Dan Lieberman, 650-508-6385