SamTrans Board Welcomes New Director, Elects Officers for 2019

SamTrans Board Welcomes New Director, Elects Officers for 2019


The SamTrans Board of Directors welcomed new member Ron Collins and elected its officers for 2019 to lead the board over this next calendar year during their monthly meeting in January.

Collins, who also serves on the San Carlos City Council, will represent the Southern Judicial Cities on the SamTrans Board.

Member Carole Groom, who represents the County of San Mateo Board of Supervisors, was elected by her colleagues as chair. Member Karyl Matsumoto, who represents the Northern Judicial Cities and serves on South San Francisco’s City Council, was elected vice chair.

The SamTrans board consists of nine members: three members who are appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, two of whom are members of the Board of Supervisors and one who possesses expertise in the field of transportation; three members appointed by the City Selection Committee, who are council members representing the northern, central and southern portions of the county; and three public members, one of whom must be a coastside resident. Board members terms are four-years.


About SamTrans: SamTrans operates 70 routes throughout San Mateo County.  Funded in part by a half-cent sales tax, the San Mateo County Transit District also provides administrative support for Caltrain and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority. SamTrans has provided bus service to San Mateo County customers since 1976.

Follow SamTrans on Facebook and Twitter.

Free translation assistance is available. Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.


SamTrans News 

January 10, 2019

Media Contact: Alex Eisenhart, 650-622-7850