Board of Directors

About SamTrans BOD  |   Video  |   Schedule/Agendas/Minutes  |  Agendas/Minutes Archives  |  Subscribe  |  SamTrans CAC

                        SamTrans Seeking Two Public Members

The San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans) Board of Directors is accepting applications for two Public Member seats. To apply, you must be a resident of San Mateo County outside the coastal region of the County and cannot be an elected official or have served as an elected official within the previous 12 months. Public members are appointed to represent the diverse residents of the County. The Public Member Recruitment Diversity Policy can be found here.

The Public Members will be appointed by six members of the SamTrans board - the three members appointed by the Board of Supervisors and the three members appointed by the City Selection Committee. The seats will have a four-year term beginning January 2021 through December 31, 2024.

Applications are due no later than 5:00 pm Friday, November 6, 2020. A fillable application form can be found here.

Please email, send, or fax your completed application to:

            Dora Seamans, District Secretary
            San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans)
            PO Box 3006
            San Carlos CA 94070-1306

            Fax: 650-508-6281

Term Expires
December 31




Ron Collins

Southern Judicial Cities

Carole Groom

Board of Supervisors

Marina Fraser

Public Member - Coastside

Rose Guilbault 

Public Member

Karyl Matsumoto (Chair)

Northern Judicial Cities

Dave Pine

Board of Supervisors

Josh Powell

Public Member

Peter Ratto (Vice Chair)

Board of Supervisors - Transportation Expert
2022 Charles Stone
Central Judicial Cities


Northern Judicial Cities: Brisbane, Colma, Daly City, Pacifica, San Bruno, South San Francisco
Central Judicial Cities: Belmont, Burlingame, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, San Mateo
Southern Judicial Cities: Atherton, East Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Carlos, Woodside


The Board of Directors consists of nine members from various leadership positions in the community with the following composition:

  • Two members from the county Board of Supervisors
  • One transportation expert appointed by the Board of Supervisors
  • Three city councilpersons, appointed by the City Selection Committee. Each councilperson represents a judicial district in San Mateo County.
  • Three public members, one of whom must reside on the coastside, appointed by the above six members.

The Board, whose members serve four-year terms, and its committees meet the first Wednesday of the month at 2:00 pm to determine overall policy for the District.  Agendas are available approximately one week before the meetings.  Comments to the board may be submitted to, by fax at 650-508-6281 or by writing to 1250 San Carlos Ave., P.O. Box 3006, San Carlos, CA, 94070-1306.  Any correspondence to be included in the Board reading file must be received by 2:00 pm the day before the Board meeting.  Correspondence, including any personal information such as names and email addresses, submitted to this agency will become disclosable public records. 

FPPC Form 806 Agency Report of Public Officials Appointments

About SamTrans BOD  |   Video  |   Schedule/Agendas/Minutes  |  Agendas/Minutes Archives  |  Subscribe  |  SamTrans CAC