San Mateo County Transit District (District) 1250 San Carlos Avenue, San Carlos, California

Minutes of Legislative Committee / Committee of the Whole

March 2, 2022

Committee Members Present: R. Medina (Chair), C. Groom, C. Stone

Committee Members Absent: None

Other Board Members Present Constituting Committee of the Whole: M. Fraser, J. Gee, R. Guilbault, D. Pine, J. Powell, P. Ratto

Other Board Members Absent: None

Staff Present: C. Mau, J. Cassman, D. Olmeda, A. Chan, J. Brook, D. Seamans

1. Call to Order

Committee Chair Rico Medina called the meeting to order at 3:44 pm.

2. Approval of Minutes of Committee Meeting of February 2, 2022

Motion/Second: Stone/Pine Ayes: Fraser, Gee, Guilbault, Groom, Medina, Pine, Powell, Ratto, Stone Noes: None Absent: None

Committee Member Charles Stone left the meeting at 3:46 pm

3. State and Federal Legislative Update and Approval of Legislative Proposals: Support AB 2197 (Mullin) and SB 942 (Newman)

Casey Fromson, Chief Communications Officer, briefly summarized the highlights of recent federal and state legislation. She said they expected to have an omnibus package soon and are anticipating a State transportation program by the summer.

She said AB (Assembly Bill) 2197 would provide \$260 million from the State's general fund to help close the gap for the Caltrain electrification project. She said SB (Senate Bill) 942 is regarding a low-carbon transit operations program (LCTOP) that would allow for a free or reduced fare transit program and give transit agencies the flexibility to use the carbon transit operation program to fund current projects as well as help with longer-term benefits for free youth ridership programs in the future.

Public Comment:

Adina Levin, Friends of Caltrain, asked if the LCTOP program from SB 942 can also help to fund integrated and affordable fares.

Gina Papan spoke in agreement on the Caltrain electrification project. She suggested including San Mateo County projects, such as the intermodal center, in future notification letters regarding the electrification project.

Motion/Second: Gee/Fraser Ayes: Fraser, Gee, Guilbault, Groom, Medina, Pine, Powell, Ratto Noes: None Absent: Stone

4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 3:53 pm.

An audio/video recording of this meeting is available online at www.samtrans.com. Questions may be referred to the District Secretary's office by phone at 650-508-6242 or by email to board@samtrans.com.