San Mateo County Transit District (District) 1250 San Carlos Avenue, San Carlos, California

Minutes of Legislative Committee / Committee of the Whole

January 4, 2023

Committee Members Present: R. Medina (Chair)

Committee Members Absent: None

Other Board Members Present Constituting Committee of the Whole: D. Canepa, M. Chuang, J. Gee (left at 3:58 pm), R. Guilbault, R. Mueller, J. Powell, P. Ratto

Other Board Members Absent: M. Fraser

Staff Present: A. Chan, J. Cassman, S. van Hoften, J. Brook, D. Seamans

10.a.1. Call to Order

Committee Chair Rico Medina called the meeting to order at 3:57 pm.

Director Jeff Gee left the meeting at 3:58 pm.

10.a.2. Approval of Minutes of the Legislative Committee Meeting of December 7, 2022

Motion/Second: Ratto/Guilbault

Ayes: Canepa, Chuang, Guilbault, Medina, Mueller, Powell, Ratto

Noes: None

Absent: Fraser, Gee

10.a.3. Adoption of 2023 Draft Legislative Program

Casey Fromson, Chief Communications Officer, recommended adding the new Brown Act guidelines to the program.

Public Comment:

Adina Levin commended SamTrans, other agencies, and MTC (Metropolitan Transportation Commission) for seeking additional funding to avoid the fiscal cliff.

Motion/Second: Guilbault/Chuang

Ayes: Canepa, Chuang, Guilbault, Medina, Mueller, Powell, Ratto

Noes: None

Absent: Fraser, Gee

10.a.4. State and Federal Legislative Update

Ms. Fromson introduced SamTrans federal lobbyists Mike Galano and Lauri Hettinger, Holland & Knight LLP, who provided an update on new federal legislators and legislation.

10.a.5. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 4:09 pm.

An audio/video recording of this meeting is available online at https://www.samtrans.com/about-samtrans/video-board-directors-cac-and-measure-w-coc. Questions may be referred to the District Secretary's office by phone at 650-508-6242 or by email to board@samtrans.com.