San Mateo County Transit District (District) 1250 San Carlos Avenue, San Carlos, California

Minutes of Legislative Committee / Committee of the Whole

April 5, 2023

Committee Members Present: R. Mueller (Chair), R. Medina

Committee Members Absent: None

Other Board Members Present Constituting Committee of the Whole: D. Canepa, M. Chuang, M. Fraser, J. Gee, R. Guilbault, J. Powell, P. Ratto

Other Board Members Absent: None

Staff Present: A. Chan, D. Olmeda, J. Cassman, S. van Hoften, J. Brook, D. Seamans

8.d.1. Call to Order

Committee Chair Ray Mueller called the meeting to order 3:45 pm.

8.d.2. Approval of Minutes of the Legislative Committee Meeting of March 1, 2023

Motion/Second: Gee/Powell

Ayes: Canepa, Chuang, Fraser, Gee, Guilbault, Medina, Mueller, Powell, Ratto

Noes: None Absent: None

8.d.3. State and Federal Legislative Update and Approval of Legislative Proposals: Support Assembly Bill (AB) 463 (Hart), AB 817 (Pacheco), and Assembly Constitutional Amendment (ACA) 1 (Aguiar-Curry)

Jessica Epstein, Manager, Government and Community Affairs, provided an update on recent federal and state legislation.

She said the President released his budget request on March 9.

She said the state legislation is in recess from March 30 to April 10 and the Governor will need to sign a balanced budget by June 30. They are trying to advocate statewide for transportation funding.

She noted that they are seeking Board support for three bills: ACA 1 would reduce the voter threshold from three-fourths to 55 percent; AB 463 would provide transit agencies with priority access to electricity during events such as rolling blackouts; and AB 817 proposes exempting nondecision-making advisory bodies.

Director Rico Medina expressed his support for the bills and requested updates on future Brown Act bills.

Chair Powell said AB 817 was vital for the community. Director Gee said it would be helpful for committees. Director Canepa said in terms of access, he supported the bill.

Director Canepa asked about coordinating with the Select Committee to continue to advocate and accelerate the County's transit needs. Ms. Epstein said the District has a lot of coordination with MTC (Metropolitan Transportation Commission) and CTA (California Transit Association) legislative staff.

Director Chuang said she felt that AB 463 was critical to ensure that SamTrans would be included among other emergency services.

Director Medina said that during the severe weather, people were being told to stay off the roads, which makes the role of transit more crucial during those times.

Public Comment:

Michael Levinson said he supported AB 817 for the benefit of volunteers with disabilities and those caring for family members. He asked if could be considered an urgency bill. Ms. Epstein said she would check with the lobbyist.

The Committee voted on whether to support AB 463 and AB 817:

Motion/Second: Gee/Canepa

Ayes: Canepa, Chuang, Fraser, Gee, Guilbault, Medina, Mueller, Powell, Ratto

Noes: None Absent: None

The Committee voted on whether to support ACA 1:

Motion/Second: Gee/Canepa

Ayes: Canepa, Chuang, Fraser, Gee, Guilbault, Medina, Powell, Ratto

Noes: Mueller Absent: None

8.d.4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 pm.

An audio/video recording of this meeting is available online at https://www.samtrans.com/about-samtrans/video-board-directors-cac-and-measure-w-coc. Questions may be referred to the District Secretary's office by phone at 650-508-6242 or by email to board@samtrans.com.