## SAMTRANS

## CORRESPONDENCE

## as of 6-12-2020

2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS



KARYL MATSUMOTO, CHAIR PETER RATTO, VICE CHAIR RON COLLINS MARINA FRASER CAROLE GROOM ROSE GUILBAULT DAVE PINE JOSH POWELL CHARLES STONE



DAVE PINE, CHAIR DEVORA "DEV" DAVIS, VICE CHAIR JEANNIE BRUINS CINDY CHAVEZ RON COLLINS STEVE HEMINGER CHARLES STONE SHAMANN WALTON MONIQUE ZMUDA



Transportation Authority

EMILY BEACH, CHAIR RICO E. MEDINA, VICE CHAIR CAROLE GROOM DON HORSLEY JULIA MATES KARYL MATSUMOTO CARLOS ROMERO

1250 SAN CARLOS AVE SAN CARLOS, CA 94070 (650) 508-6200 June 11, 2020

The Honorable Toni Atkins Senate President pro Tempore State Capitol, Room 205 Sacramento, CA 95814

## **RE: Senate Confirmation of Caltrans Director Toks Omishakin- SUPPORT**

Dear Senate President pro Tempore Atkins,

On behalf of the San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans), the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (Caltrain), and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (Transportation Authority), I write to respectfully request Senate confirmation of Caltrans Director Toks Omishakin.

Our agencies have been working diligently for several years to address safety and congestion management along goods movement arterials, such as Highway 101, which runs down the Bay Area Peninsula through the heart of Silicon Valley, while simultaneously working on providing multi-modal options through the pursuit of commuter rail service, enhanced public transportation and ferry service, and active transportation projects to help reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

We strive to continue improving air quality and mobility while also accommodating heavy traffic within our region. Director Omishakin's willingness to understand the opportunities and challenges presented in each region to balance addressing mobility, throughput, and clean air has been appreciated.

In addition, his emphasis on improving safety and congestion management on the state highway system, and background in delivering multi-modal options during his previous tenure with the Tennessee Department of Transportation, will allow for greater collaboration to meet state and regional objectives.

For these reasons, we strongly support Senate confirmation for the appointment of Toks Omishakin as Caltrans Director.

Sincerely, Jim Hartnett

General Manager/Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director

CC: Members of the California State Senate Governor Gavin Newsom David Kim, Secretary, California State Transportation Agency Toks Omishakin, Director, California Department of Transportation The Honorable Marc Berman, Assembly Member, 24<sup>th</sup> District The Honorable Kevin Mullin, Assembly Member, 22<sup>nd</sup> District The Honorable Phil Ting, Assembly Member, 19<sup>th</sup> District San Mateo County Transit District Board of Directors Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board of Directors San Mateo County Transportation Authority Board of Directors