SamTrans Board Extends Application Deadline for Public Member 


Media Contact: Mahmoud Abunie, 650-730-6201  

The San Mateo County Transit District (District) Board of Directors has extended the deadline for applications to fill the public member seat. The deadline for submitting an application is 5 p.m. Monday, June 5. The successful candidate will be one of nine directors responsible for setting policy for the District, which is responsible for the countywide SamTrans bus and paratransit services. 

Public members who apply must be a San Mateo County resident living outside of the County’s coastal region and must not have held public office for at least one year. Each appointment has a four-year term.  

The board consists of nine members: three members appointed by the Board of Supervisors, three members who are appointed by the City Selection Committee, who are council members representing the northern, central, and southern portions of the county; and three public members, one of whom is a coastside resident. Regular meetings are scheduled for the first Wednesday of each month at 2 p.m.  

The application is available at or by calling 650-508-6242.  


About SamTrans: SamTrans operates 70 routes throughout San Mateo County. Funded in part by a half-cent sales tax, the San Mateo County Transit District also provides administrative support for Caltrain and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority. SamTrans has provided bus service to San Mateo County customers since 1976.  

Follow SamTrans on Facebook and Twitter.  

Free translation assistance is available. Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.