SamTrans Board of Directors Elects Officers For 2016

SamTrans Board of Directors Elects Officers For 2016


At its meeting on Wednesday, the San Mateo County Transit District’s Board of Directors elected its officers for 2016. 

Zoe Kersteen-Tucker was elected by her colleagues to serve as board chair and Rose Guilbault was elected as vice-chair. At the meeting on Wednesday, Kersteen-Tucker spoke about the new opportunities and challenges facing SamTrans. Technological innovations, increased support from private entities, and the growing demand from the public to use environmentally-sustainable options are changing the way that public transit is delivered.

“Always at the heart of what we will we do, is to serve those people who rely on us—to get to the doctor, to get to work to get to church, to live their lives—and this will never change,” said Kersteen-Tucker, who serves on the Board as a public citizen representing the coastside communities of San Mateo County. “What’s changing now and challenging us, is that more and more people that have transportation options are choosing to ride public transportation.”

The board sets policy for the Transit District, which is responsible for county-wide SamTrans’ bus and paratransit service. The Transit District also operates a network of shuttles that connect rail lines to major employment sites, is involved in the Grand Boulevard Initiative, and engages in transit-oriented development plans.

The District board consists of nine members: three members who are appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, two of whom are members of the Board of Supervisors and one who possesses expertise in the field of transportation; three members appointed by the Cities Selection Committee, who are council members representing the northern, central and southern portions of the county; and three public members, one of whom must be a coastside resident. Board members are all appointed to serve four-year terms.


 About SamTrans: SamTrans operates 76 routes throughout San Mateo County.  Funded in part by a half-cent sales tax, the San Mateo County Transit District also provides administrative support for Caltrain and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority. SamTrans has provided bus service to San Mateo County customers since 1976. 

Like us on Facebook at: or and follow us on Twitter @SamTrans_News.

 SamTrans News




Media Contact: Will Reisman, 650-508-7704