SamTrans Board of Directors Welcomes Three New Members


Media Contact: Mahmoud Abunie, 650-730-6201

Marie Chuang, Ray Mueller and David Canepa have joined the SamTrans Board of Directors. Chuang will represent the Cities – Central County, and Mueller and Canepa will represent the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors.

Chuang is currently the councilmember for the Town of Hillsborough, as well as a representative on the City/County Association of Governments of San Mateo County (C/CAG) and the San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Organization (Emergency Services Council). Mueller and Canepa are currently members of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors serving Districts 3 and 5, respectively.  

The SamTrans board consists of nine members: three members who are appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, two of whom are members of the Board of Supervisors and one who possesses expertise in the field of transportation; three members appointed by the City Selection Committee of the Council of Cities, who are council members representing the northern, central and southern portions of the county; and three public members, one of whom must be a coastside resident. Board members terms are four years.

For additional information about board members, visit


About SamTrans: SamTrans operates 70 routes throughout San Mateo County. Funded in part by a half-cent sales tax, the San Mateo County Transit District also provides administrative support for Caltrain and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority. SamTrans has provided bus service to San Mateo County customers since 1976.

Follow SamTrans on Facebook and Twitter.

Free translation assistance is available. Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.